McMaster University

McMaster University

Members of the PPE Research-Practice Collaborative

Dr. Julia Abelson, Principal Investigator


Julia Abelson is a professor in the Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact at McMaster University. She is also a member of the Department of Political Science and the Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis (CHEPA). Throughout her career, Dr. Abelson’s research program has been guided by a long-standing interest in how the public interacts with health systems as patients, community members, voters and taxpayers. These interests have provided the foundation for numerous research studies focused on the design and evaluation of processes for engaging the public and patients in health system decision-making. Through her research, she has developed productive and long-standing partnerships with a wide range of policy makers and health system managers at the provincial and regional governance levels across the country and is regularly invited to advise policy decision makers and health system managers on the design, implementation and evaluation of public engagement processes.


Collaborative Members

  • Colleen Schneider

  • Kristin Shields

  • Geoff Wilson




We would also like to acknowledge the following individuals who made important contributions to the establishment of the PPE Research-Practice Collaborative and to the development of the PPEET:

  • Sarah Boesveld
  • Karen Born
  • Ann Casebeer
  • Keith Donaghy
  • Shan Landry
  • Kathy Li
  • Bretta Maloff
  • Lucie McNeill
  • Chris Sargent
  • Shirley Smallwood
  • Jody Syder Jones
  • Margreth Tolson
  • Judi Winkup
  • Saori Yamamoto
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0